Seoulicious’s Weblog

I’m a girl who loves to be spontaneous. Next stop: Seoul, Korea

The world’s craziest bartenders April 22, 2010

Filed under: Culture,Nightlife — writersparadise @ 12:34 am
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s picture time!  But first, these pics need a little history.  My friends and I used to go to this local bar in Suyu called Dragon.  If you remember from one of my earlier posts (see here)when I started this blog, the first neighborhood I lived in was traditionally Korean.  Not many western establishments in this neighborhood aside from the usual McD’s, Baskin Robbins and KFC.  It was a great place to initially live b/c it allowed me to really soak up Korean culture/lifestyle.

One of my coworkers took me to Dragon bar within my first month in Seoul and I was stoked to find a place that could properly make a Cosmo in this city.   I could really digress about some of the “martinis” I’ve been served in this town but I’ll leave that for another day.  Our boss also frequently visited this place a lot and if you happened to be there the same time as him, he would comp your drinks! Although he would only continually pay for whatever libation you were drinking at the moment(curse those nights I decided to save cash and have beer when he magically appeared!)

This bar became our “Cheers”.  We developed good relationships with the bar staff and they always seemed so excited when we came to blow our paychecks walked through the doors.  After the first year, my friends and I all took different jobs and moved to other parts of Seoul.  We would pop into Dragon occasionally and the pics to follow are from a night last June when we just so happened to pop in on their anniversary night.  Needless to say, it was a sh*t show but a very fun one indeed.  Enjoy…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment