Seoulicious’s Weblog

I’m a girl who loves to be spontaneous. Next stop: Seoul, Korea

Adjusting May 5, 2008

Filed under: Reflections — writersparadise @ 9:59 pm
Tags: , ,

Last month was.. difficult.  I didn’t blog much at all because I had nothing to say.  The “homesickness” feeling took a hold of me and all I could think about was friends and family and how I wanted to be back in my comfort zone.  After the novelty of Seoul wore off, nothing felt exciting anymore. 

I met this girl at a bar when I first arrived and she has been living here for 6 years.  She told me that you have to recreate the life you had in your home country here in Seoul or you will just feel like an outsider with no real ties to this city.   So, my new challenge is to get some new hobbies so I can really soak up this experience.  I’m finally starting Korean classes this month which will make adjusting a whole lot easier I’m sure. 

 Last week, I felt back to my normal self and I was really relieved.  I’m not used to being in a funk for so long because I’ve always been pretty happy go lucky but now I’m back on track.  I just had a great weekend filled with lots of dancing, eating good food and roaming around the city.  I discovered this really cute district thanks to another blogger (http://nearandfar.wordpress.com/) called Samcheong-dong and I felt at home in this area.  Lots of cute cafes, wine bars, boutiques and shops lined the tree laden streets.  Since I live in a grimy area, it was such a welcome change to see greenery and nice architecture.  I’m sure Seoul has many more wonderful areas just waiting to be discovered and I’m looking forward to finding my niche while I’m here.   

 

8 Responses to “Adjusting”

  1. Tania Says:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling back to normal, even NYC with its familiarity and lots of college friends look a while to adjust, so i can’t imagine a place where you don’t know anyone and don’t speak to language. Getting out of the homesickness is step 1, and then well the rest will follow! Your DJ festival sounded cool!!!

  2. seoulicious Says:

    yeah the dj festival was awesome; I felt like I was back in Cali. It was good to dance to good music b/c Korea loves them some cheesy pop music!

  3. Matthew P Says:

    check out Hyaehwa, on line 4 just north of dongdaemun

    it’s alot like samcheon-dong, in that it has lots of nice cafes, but it’s not as expensive. Plus there’s a hill that’s really beautiful to walk up

    The Jonggak area is also pretty nice

  4. seoulicious Says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I actually live on line #4 so I frequent Hyewha a lot but I haven’t been to Jonggak so I will put that on my list of places to go..

  5. Minita Says:

    HI Shauente- so glad to hear that you’re doing better…I am moving back to beantown at the end of the month, am thinking about you! m

  6. seoulicious Says:

    M – I was just thinking about you the other day girlie. I’m sure you are knee deep in wedding planning cause the date is coming up really soon. Moving back to beantown should be really interesting. We should talk on skype once you get there and get a little settled okay. Miss u tons and take care!!

  7. I hear ya. I hear ya.
    Glamour starts to fade and the faces of those you love make you wish for the lazy days of just being in their space.
    You are supported. The virtual family loves you. We’ll hold it down.
    Email me and let’s trade skype info.

  8. thistimenow Says:

    Thank you!
    I was just checking my Blog Stats and and decided to read your blog a little more and lo and behold I found that you mentioned my little ole’ sight.
    Thank you!
    I will leave for Virginia and Europe as of Monday but will keep the blog going even over the summer. Big things are happening in my life and some of it is due to my blog! Who knew?

    Have a wonderful evening and a wonderful week!

    Ciao

    Felicia
    http://www.nearandfar.wordpress.com


Leave a comment