Seoulicious’s Weblog

I’m a girl who loves to be spontaneous. Next stop: Seoul, Korea

I think I live in the ghetto… March 8, 2008

Filed under: Neighborhoods — writersparadise @ 1:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s always hard to describe one’s exact thoughts or views about a city upon the first sighting.  After the initial shock of being in a new place washes away, it’s easier to decide how you feel about a city.  When I moved to Boston for undergrad, I remember thinking how old and historical the city felt every time I walked the streets.  Los Angeles seemed so fresh, expansive and sunny when I first arrived there. 

My first impression of Seoul left me thinking I had disembarked in Neon heaven.  Neon signs are literally everywhere in my neighborhood.  There is even a church right by my apartment building that showcases a neon sign.  I live in a grimy, edgy district of Seoul and the people in this area seem to be working class.

Last weekend I took a subway ride to another neighborhood to get a different visual perspective on this urban jungle.  I went to a part of town that is close to a lot of universities and it was absolutely gorgeous.  There was less neon, cleaner streets, neat looking boutiques and cool cafes. 

So on the following Monday morning, I asked one of the other foreign teachers how Seoulites viewed the area we live in and she said, “Oh, some consider it the ghetto”.  Hmmm, I wouldn’t have necessarily gone as far to call it a ghetto but every culture has its own meanings for words.  However, according to encyclopedia brittanica, a ghetto is:

  • a quarter of a city in which members of a minority group live especially because of social, legal, or economic pressure   

There are definitely no minorities in this neighborhood outside of the few foreign teachers who trickle in and out of the area for their year contracts and I’m not sure about Koreans having to live here vs other nicer neighborhoods due to social, legal or economic pressures because I don’t know any Koreans to get their opionions.  But, I have recently learned that the mafia opened a lot of brothels in this area and it is considered the red light district. 

Yep, you heard me right, I live in the red light district of Seoul!  There is even a street where women sit in windows waiting for potential suitors to come and give them employment.  I haven’t been to this street yet but I will be making a journey down there soon enough to see if it rivals the red light district of Amsterdam.

Although it is the red light district, this area still has a very family oriented vibe to it.  In the mornings, I see parents taking their kids to school and senior citizens having their morning walks.  There are a vast array of nice restaurants of Korean, American, Chinese and Japanese cuisines within 5 minute walking distance to my apartment.  There is even a body shop (facial products) in this area which would never be in any ghetto back home.   I think Seoul might be on to something.  Just because you live in the red light district, doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t be able to go have a nice dinner and then go pick up that new exfoliating mask you’ve been eyeing in the store window… 

 

12 Responses to “I think I live in the ghetto…”

  1. I dig ghettos. Ghettos bring personality to the day to day…..and the red light district to boot! You hit the jack pot my friend.

  2. tania Says:

    hey the fact that you didn’t know it was a ghetto straight away has got to mean something? And yes good food more than makes up for it…. stay safe though!

  3. thistimenow Says:

    You wrote a good post!
    I live in Sinchon, about 5 minutes away from where I teach. What’s the name of your neighborhood? Sinchon, Hongdae…?

    I’m off to Thailand for 16 days of vacation! Perhaps we could meet for coffee when I get back?

    Have a good one!

    Felicia
    http://www.nearandfar.wordpress.com

    P.S. Thank you for adding my blog to your blogroll!

  4. The Biggy Says:

    Well according to Mom, we’re use to the ghetto. Remember Mitchell off ILLinois and we can’t forget South Loop in Duncanville. You just passing though sista. Thanks for the address and teacher contact. Stay safe and we love you.

  5. seoulicious Says:

    Yeah I remember all of those crazy places for sure. I guess I will have some good stories for my grandkids one day..

  6. S Says:

    The university area…was that all near “Hangik University”? I took a subway there once and the whole area is so laid back. The cafes are bangin’, and u could buy some cool stuff on the streets too.

  7. seoulicious Says:

    Hey S,

    Yeah I was referring to Hongdae/Hongik University when I said “University area”. Sounds like you remember a lot about Seoul. Do you think you will try and come here to live anytime soon??

  8. S Says:

    I would love to. I just don’t know what avenues are available. really. My friends want me to move there for good. It sure would make shipping gifts a lot cheaper [DHL is crazy]! haha

    I remember so much because it was the time of my life. haha So although it was back in May 2008…I still remember it like it was yesterday.

    PS. I got my first tattoo today and it was a tribute to my friends and times there. It says an old Korean saying which means “Sweet Noble Friendship”.

  9. seoulicious Says:

    Well the easiest thing would be to teach English. There are tons of teaching jobs here. Have you finished college yet?

    The tattoo sounds cool!

    Shauente

  10. S Says:

    In May I will graduate with my Bachelors in Political Science. You guys’ schedule sounds REALLY demanding. haha But don’t think I haven’t thought about it,…keep in mind the first message that I posted earlier in the week about all the “precieved barriers”. Those were my only hesitations.

  11. zitlalit Says:

    Umm what was the name of the part of town you lived in?


Leave a comment